BERGS Gourmet Burgers

Imagine in your head what will go into your ideal burger.

Will it have bacon? A wobbly fried egg? Or perhaps pickles?

Here’s mine!


To be honest, I didn’t give my “ideal burger” much thought till I was writing this post. The patty is the most important to me, and the sauce, since I am pretty picky about eating sauces & mildly mayophobic.


Armed with a voucher ($15 for $30 worth of food at BERGS) I bought off one of those deal sites sometime back, I visited their Far East Square branch for dinner on a Thursday night. It’s pretty easy to find, located just by the Water Gate entrance and opposite Red Mango.

The setting of the restaurant is casual, with school canteen-like benches and tables at both the “alfresco” and indoor area, nothing gourmet or anything. The alfresco area was full and I ended up inside, which was a very bad idea. The smell ventilation inside was close to zero with the semi open kitchen just behind the cashier and no partition to prevent the smell from traveling to the seating area. Now you know why everyone is seated outside!

At Bergs, its like the Mos burger system, order at counter, collect tag and the staff will serve you your food. The burgers come in 2 sizes, Small & Bergs size. At $3.50, you can make it a meal with Chips and their Homemade Ice Lemon Tea.¬†Unfortunately, the voucher didn’t allow the meal option so we had to get sides and drinks a la carte instead.

Bundaberg Lemon Lime Bitters & Root Beer ($3 each a la carte)

Onion Rings ($4 a la carte)

Onion rings are run of the mill, pretty oily, but at least they arrived hot. Spotted chips at another table and its the chunky thick cut type.

The Berg with Cheese ($9.50 for Small size)

The burgers arrived in brown paper bags, which many people use to line the table as they eat. Picking up the soft warm bundle, I took a bite before I remembered to take a picture heh. The Berg with Cheese is made up of “Prime Beef Pattie, Lettuce, Tomato, Red Onion, Aioli & Bergs Sauce and your choice of Swiss, Brie or Edam cheese”. No one asked for my choice of cheese though?

Patty was thick, juicy and doesn’t appear to be machine ground, with uneven textures, plus point! On the whole the burger was decent to me, not that I’ve tried many really, but the bun is a little too thick? With the bun and their Small size being bigger than your regular McChicken, I was stuffed.

Miss Piggy Burger ($11 for Small size)

The boyfriend had a Miss Piggy Burger, which is basically The Berg with Cheese + Bacon. He was already halfway done with it by the time I got to taking a picture -.- He was stuffed too, which made me glad we didn’t get 2 sides.

We spent only $15.50 for the above thanks to the voucher. I don’t mind coming back for more if the air ventilation gets fixed (seriously!) and if I work in the area (which I do not). They obviously cater to the office crowd, with another branch at Changi Business Park. Plenty more burger joints to check out before coming back for seconds!

BERGS Gourmet Burgers

137 Amoy St,

#01-01 Far East Square

6438 6505

http://bergsburgers.com/

*Closed on Sundays

Leave a Reply

