Food for Thought @ 8Q

My search for comfort food on a cold angsty day led me to Food for Thought @ 8q. I’ve had their pancakes with mixed berries and plain ones previously and was instantly in love with it. Luckily for me, the place wasn’t packed on a Monday afternoon. (Note: Brunch menu available only from 9-530pm!) Reservations are highly recommended for dinner & weekends, though I have something to say about that at the end of this post.

The interior of this casual cafe is charmingly decorated in white, with high ceilings, glass jar lights and a corner selling little knicks and knacks.

20110829-061343.jpg

Place mats with a mission. There’s 7 different ones I think! The cafe believes in clean accessible water for all so tap water is served for free here, customers can also make donations to help poorer countries have better access to clean water. There is also no service charge at Food for Thought.

20110829-062011.jpg

Pancakes!! ($6+). The plain ones come with fresh cream and gula melaka syrup but I asked for it to be served on the side, with no cream. These are so so good, served warm, fragrant, fluffy and crisp at the edges. Eating them did make my day better. They are consistent too, I’ve never been disappointed the 4 times I had pancakes here. I read in a newspaper article once that they use French flour? Not too sure how much difference it makes though!

I like mine plain, and also because I’ll rather spend the extra money for pancake toppings (berries, chocolate chunks, banana & walnuts, stewed cherries etc) on a side of scrambled eggs instead, or fries, which I find both to be above average in terms of taste. No pictures on this occasion!

20110829-064011.jpg

Love the jar for cutlery, like the service extended, but not so much the reservation stand bit on my table, which was placed there halfway when I was eating. As you can see from the card, the reservation was for 645. I was really disturbed by it because it appeared on my table around 510? With “Adeline” staring at me the whole time. If I was still hanging around at 6+ and the cafe wanted to drop a hint I would have been fine, but one and half hours ahead, really?

20110829-065142.jpg

On a last note, the 3G connection here is somehow pretty wonky, usually very slow and times it worked, it’s like finding an extra pancake, which hardly happens. So if you are planning to do work here, I’ll suggest you go somewhere else.

Update:

Dug up some old photos from FFT that I took before knockonfood started!

20110916-104258.jpg

20110916-104343.jpg

Pancakes with Mixed Berries, $10. Yums, but like I said, I’ll rather add a side of eggs!

Second post on FFT

Food for Thought
8 Queen Street
Opening Hours: Mon – Sat 9am – 10pm
(Last orders from kitchen 8.50pm)
Sun 9am – 9pm
(Last orders from kitchen 7.30pm)

http://www.foodforthought.com.sg/

6 thoughts on “Food for Thought @ 8Q

  1. Thanks for the great review! So happy that the pancakes made your day : )

    Sorry about the reservation card! I’ve highlighted it to the manager, so they know this happened, and can decide how to act on it.

    Come back for more pancakes! You know they’ll always be here waiting for you : )

  2. SO NICE I WANT TO GO THERE HEHE
    keep going with this blog. im always on the look out for good affordable food. but never had the time. now i just folo this blog HEHE
    Thank yu!

  3. Pingback: Food for Thought @ 8q II | knockonfood.

  4. Pingback: Food for Thought @ Botanic Gardens | knockonfood.

Leave a Reply

