SOHO Coffee

20111218-115436.jpg

I was actually already seated at Food For Thought, when the whole place just seemed to overwhelm me with it’s noise and Sunday brunch business since I was alone. So I walked down the road to Armenian Street, where SOHO Coffee is located in a discreet turn of the corner opposite the Peranakan Museum. Keep a look out because since they are in a conservational area, they have to keep to some signage limits imposed on them.

20111218-193641.jpg

20111218-193648.jpg

20111218-193655.jpg

I got what I wanted, the place was pretty quiet with just 2 other tables, maybe it was the rain, maybe it was the train disruption. Which was a pity in a sense because from now till 1st Jan, they are actually having a brunch promotion with delished.com for a starter, breakfast set or pancakes with coffee/tea for $15nett! The small interior that could fit about 20 pax was simply furnished with modern tones of red white and black.

20111218-203219.jpg

20111218-203231.jpg

The starter was supposed to be a chef’s surprise, and while I love granola with my yogurt, the surprise was a little on the meh side. The ‘pastry flakes’ were a little flat and it might have been cute for them to serve it in one of their piccolo coffee glasses!

20111218-203654.jpg

Chose to have their Breakfast Set that comes with greens, brioche, bratwurst, mushrooms, scrambled or poached eggs, back bacon and grilled tomato. A little not used to seeing sautéed shiitake mushrooms instead of the usual button or portobello. Love the fresh greens and their dressing and the creamy scrambled eggs! Will marry any guy that can cook me awesome scrambled eggs! All these makes a pretty filling brunch, and I could enjoy it happily in peace while I read my magazine and listen to Christmas music, bliss.

20111218-204924.jpg

Coffee with biscotti. Comes without milk so you have to ask for it! They are also one of the participating outlets in the coffee trail for the ‘Be Disloyal‘ Card.

Service wise, for the most part was good. The manager was very nice and they refilled my water but they didn’t give me butter for breakfast? I would think butter is included? Not very sure how long the secludedness of this place would last but I don’t think I will be back specifically for them.

SOHO Coffee

36 Armenian Street, #01-08 (corner of Hill St & Loke Yew St)

66347977

Mon – Thu:9:00 am-6:00 pm

Fri:9:00 am-8:00 pm

Sat:10:00 am-6:00 pm

Sun:8:00 am-5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

