Oriole Coffee Roasters

image

If I have to credit a place that got me started on coffee, it has to be Oriole at Somerset. Their award winning baristas and creations like Chili Chocolate Mocha and Orange Sin aside, they made me feel welcome and comfortable while sitting at the bar and soaking in the fresh coffee aromas. Oriole Coffee Roasters has been around for quite some time, but it took a lot for me to break away from the comforts of Somerset to head down to Jiak Chuan Road one very free weekend.

image

image

Tucked in a little bend, you must get the road name right to reach Oriole. Perhaps due to its proximity to Chinatown, the styling of the cafe is influenced as well. Classy vintage decor in a airy space with communal tables that kind of reminds me of a peranakan house? Other than coffee, the cafe also boasts a light menu of sandwiches/breakfast items as well as having coffee workshops upstairs in this 2-storey shophouse.

image

A cappuccino to start my day, this was great as expected from them. It was a slow day for coffee, I had the place to myself, and I was very entertained just chatting with the barista on duty, who was very knowledgeable about his art I might add. I regretted stopping at Selfish Gene to grab a bite earlier because the sandwiches here are reasonably priced and those 63deg eggs and truffle scrambled eggs were just taunting my stomach to order them. Need to get back here soon!

image

My second cup (courtesy of the barista) was a very unusual blend unique to this outlet, Straits 7. Apparently it contains 7 ingredients that are commonly found in kitchens? I guessed coffee, sugar, creamer? and I am very sure there are black and white pepper in the mix from the peppery undertones I got. Glad I had this! Overall a very bold interesting flavour, try this for something different from your usual lattes!

(oh and I wanted to add, true to the declaration in the first photo, I didn’t need to add any sugar to my coffee and still loved it.)

Oriole Coffee Roasters

10 Jiak Chuan Road  S(089264)
6224 8131

Opening Hours:

Mon – Sat: 08:30 – 22:00

Sun: 08:30 – 18:00

www.oriolecoffee.com

Leave a Reply

