Jimmy Monkey Café & Bar

image

So I’ve never been to One-North/Portsdown Road area and as I walked the winding street to Jimmy Monkey one Sunday afternoon I can’t help but appreciate the peace and quiet of this reclusive developing part of Singapore.

Tucked at the end of a block at One-North Residences, a mere 5-10 minute walk from one-north mrt station, you know you’ve reached the coffee sweet spot when you see the bright orange sign and their monkey mascot.

image

image

The place was smaller and darker than I had pictured in my mind but sports awesome high ceilings. The staff and barista operate with a light-hearted attitude, which makes it great for patrons who are alone.

image

image

image

image

Piccolo Latte and Latte, $5 each. I know a lot of bloggers emphasized that Jimmy Monkey has the first Slayer espresso coffee machine in Singapore, which apparently allows the barista infinite ways to draw the coffee shot with its variable pressure feature and tailor it to your palate’s preference. But to be honest as long as my coffee is smooth and not too acidic, which I’m personally not fond of, I’m a happy customer. That said, I enjoyed my fragrant Latte without additional sugar.

image

Biscotti with a a faint spice tint that tasted like ginger.

Jimmy Monkey serves brunch on weekends till 4-5pm and dinner menu starts from 6pm. A fairly decent spot for Westies, but I think I have better and more options that are central to my area.

image

Jimmy Monkey Cafe & Bar

Sunday to Thursday – 8.30am till 8.30pm
Friday and Saturday – 8.30am till 10.30pm

http://www.jimmymonkey.com/

One thought on “Jimmy Monkey Café & Bar

Leave a Reply

