Eatplaylove Craft Cafe

image

Singaporeans like to be given choices, and we’ve seen a growing number of places offering different cuisines like Western & Thai from the same kitchen, but I think this is the first time its combined with a DIY arts & crafts concept!

Eatplaylove is a new child-friendly crafts cafe at Aliwal Arts Centre (apt location!), occupying a rather large whimsically decorated space and at just about 1 month old.

image

image

image

The namesake crafts corner is at the far right end, mainly populated by young kids as the cafe filled up for dinner but don’t let that stop you from adopting a Monster Doll of your own (see below), or creating a unique charm bracelet! There are quite a few things you can make to express your creativity with, other than the ones I will mention, but I was kind of more interested in food since I was hungry heh. Go have the joy of discovering it yourself!

image

Monster Dolls, $15/$20/$25 for small/medium/large dolls respectively. The dolls pictured above are the small sized ones I believe? Each doll comes plain with only their fabric base, and the price is inclusive of various parts and accessories like wobbly eyes and sewing materials to complete your masterpiece. (Psst, your mess will be taken care of so you can feel free to go crazy!) I find the price slightly steep if I were to make one for myself but I don’t mind bringing my little cousin here to make one!

image

image

They have starter kits for different accessories like necklaces and earrings too, which I am sure will make many little girls very happy. In fact, I heard they have already done a few children parties!

I thought the cafe setting was cute but I really grew to like it when I was editing the pictures, all my photos turned out so pretty with the long blue walls adorned with printed pennant banners, wooden furniture and other colorful items!

image

Eatplaylove feature a Western & Thai menu, along with some light bites, waffles and Thai desserts. I think the concept also came about because the owner’s wife is half-Thai!

image

Ice Lychee, Apple Yakult ($5) and Thai Iced Tea ($4). I found the Thai Iced Tea to be a little thin but the Apple Yakult (made from fresh apple juice with yakult) really tasted like a less sweet version of our regular apple-flavoured yakult.

image

Green Curry Rice, $7.50. I have a thing for green curries, so when I saw it on the menu I had to order this. Eatplaylove’s version is a little sweeter than usual, though the spice creeps up on you. I won’t say it’s good compared to full fledged Thai places but it is a decent dish, and a fried egg is always appreciated!

image

Tom Yum Noodle Soup, $7.50. Big portion with plenty of noodles and seafood!

image

Pesto Grilled Fish, $10.50.

image

Spicy Beef Burger, $14.50. The spice comes from the beef patty and is very mild so non-spicy eaters need not worry! Perhaps they can consider add-on options for a more robust burger. Overall, I think I still prefer their Thai offerings!

image

Nutella & Banana Waffle, $4.50. Humans are not made to resist the combination of Nutella & Banana so we got one to share as dessert, could do with more nutella. Was slightly disappointed to find out that it’s the folded waffle instead of the big dessert ones!

image

Considering dinner prices, their Set Lunch looks pretty value for money!

image

Keep Calm and Craft On.

If you are around the Arab Street area, Eatplaylove is a very good place for large group of friends and for families, since many places in this area are generally small shophouse units. Come to appreciate the space and different menus they offer or bring the young ones here and watch them create some magic at their adorable craft corner.

Eatplaylove Craft Cafe

28 Aliwal Street #01-07 Aliwal Arts Centre, Singapore 199918
 
6444 6400
 
2 thoughts on “Eatplaylove Craft Cafe

Leave a Reply

